(All figures as at  01.01.1998)
The area centre: Moscow


650,000.7 sq km (3.8% of the Russian Federation)
Population: 37,309.800 (25.3% of the Russian Federation)
Density: 57.3 persons per sq km

Major cities:

Moscow  (8.298.900)
Voronezh  (903.700)
Yaroslavl (618.800)
Ryazan (530.600)
Tula   (515.500)
Lipetsk  (475.400)
Ivanovo  (463.800)
Bryansk  (459.000)
Tver   (451.800)
Kursk   (441.300)

There are about 300 cities in the Moscow Area

(as at  01.01.1998)

Basic information
Territory: 1000 sq km (0.006% of the Russian Federation, ranks 88 of all regions)
Population: 8.537 million (5.8% of the Russian Federation, ranks 1 of all cities)
Population density: 8,588.7 per sq km
Major cities: Moscow   8.298.900
Zelenograd  205.800
Geographical location and composition: The City consists of 10 municipal areas (including Zelenograd) and four towns. It lays in the centre of the European part of the Russian Federation between the Volga River and the Oka River. The Moskva River is the principal river of this region.
Climate: Temperate and temperate-continental
Medium temperature in January is -10.2 Celsius; medium temperature in July  is +18.1 Celsius
Moscow belongs to: the Central Economic Region and
the Central Federal District
Major industries: Machine-building and metal-working ( including  machine-tool construction, automobile construction, electromechanical, radiotechnical, instrument  and agricultural machinery, etc.), all kinds of food production, light industry (cotton fabric, wool, silk, haberdashery, knitted wear, clothes, shoes and leather products, chemical and oil processing industries. Another important production areas are ferrous and non-ferrous metallurgy, forestry and wood-processing, polygraph and construction materials industry.

The City of Moscow was founded in 1147.